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Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Chapter 62, Subchapter I. Early Termination of Certain Persons’ Obligation to Register.  

Art. 62.402. Determination of Minimum Required Registration Period 

     (a)     The department by rule shall determine the minimum required registration period under federal law for each reportable conviction or adjudication under 
this chapter. 

     (b)     After determining the minimum required registration period for each reportable conviction or adjudication under Subsection (a), the department shall 
compile and publish a list of reportable convictions or adjudications for which a person must register under this chapter for a period that exceeds the minimum 
required registration period under federal law. 

     (c)     To the extent possible, the department shall periodically verify with the United States Department of Justice's Office of Sex Offender Sentencing, 
Monitoring, Apprehending, Registering, and Tracking or another appropriate federal agency or office the accuracy of the list of reportable convictions or 
adjudications described by Subsection (b). 

Under Art. 62.403(b), a person with a single reportable adjudication or conviction may apply to the Council on Sex Offender Treatment for an individual risk assessment. 
Therefore, a second reportable offense that makes the Texas registration period longer than the Federal requirement would not be eligible for deregistration because there is no 
longer just a single reportable offense. [i.e. §§ 20.02, or 21.11(a)(2)] 

Art. 62.404 allows a registrant who has requested and received an individual risk assessment to file with the trial court that sentenced the person for the reportable conviction or 
adjudication a motion for early termination of the person’s obligation to register.  

Texas Statute Texas Offense Length of Duty to Register in Texas Length of Duty to Register 
under SORNA 

NOT ELIGIBLE to apply for deregistration under CCP 62.403(b) = Not a  single offense OR  Federal 
registration requirement is LONGER or EQUAL TO the Texas registration requirement 

ELIGIBLE to apply for deregistration under CCP 62.403(b) = A single offense AND 
Federal registration requirement is SHORTER than the Texas registration requirement  

ELIGIBLE to apply for deregistration IF REGISTERED more than 5 yrs while on deferred/parole/probation 
before discharge = A single offense AND Federal registration requirement is SHORTER than the Texas 

registration requirement 

ELIGIBLE to apply for deregistration IF REGISTERED more than 15 yrs while on 
deferred/parole/probation before discharge = A single offense AND Federal registration 

requirement is SHORTER than the Texas registration requirement 
 

§ 20.02 
Unlawful Restraint 

with an affirmative finding that the 
victim was under 17 

Adult conviction, non-parent offender 
1st reportable conviction Post-10 Tier I 

15 years 
Adult conviction, non-parent offender 

2nd reportable conviction Lifetime Tier I 
15 years 

Attempt/conspiracy/solicitation Post-10 Tier I 
15 years 

Committed by a parent Same as above, depending on circumstances No duty to register 
 

§ 20.03 Kidnapping 
with an affirmative finding that 

Adult conviction, non-parent offender 
1st reportable conviction Post-10 Tier III 

Lifetime 
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victim was under 17 Adult conviction, non-parent offender 

2nd reportable conviction Lifetime Tier III 
Lifetime 

Attempt/conspiracy/solicitation Post-10 Tier III 
Lifetime 

Committed by a parent Same as above, depending on circumstances No duty to register 
 

Texas Statute Texas Offense Length of Duty to Register in Texas Length of Duty to Register 
under SORNA 

Not a  single offense OR  Federal registration requirement is LONGER or EQUAL TO the Texas 
registration requirement, so NOT ELIGIBLE to apply for deregistration under CCP 62.403(b) 

A single offense AND Federal registration requirement is SHORTER than the Texas 
registration requirement, so ELIGIBLE to apply for deregistration under CCP 

62.403(b) 

§ 20.04 
Aggravated Kidnapping 

with an affirmative finding that 
victim was under 17 

Adult conviction, non-parent offender 
1st reportable conviction Post-10 Tier III 

Lifetime 
Adult conviction, non-parent offender 

2nd reportable conviction Lifetime Tier III 
Lifetime 

Attempt/conspiracy/solicitation Post-10 Tier III 
Lifetime 

Committed by a parent Same as above, depending on circumstances No duty to register 
 

§ 20.04(a)(4) 
Aggravated Kidnapping 

with the intent to violate or abuse 
victim sexually 

Adult conviction 
 Lifetime Tier III 

Lifetime 

Attempt/conspiracy/solicitation Post-10 Tier III 
Lifetime 

 

§ 20A.02(a)(3) or (a)(4) Trafficking of Adults  
Adult conviction Lifetime Tier I 

15 years 

Attempt/conspiracy/solicitation Post-10 Tier I 
15 years 

 

§ 20A.02(a)(7) or (a)(8) 
 

Trafficking of Children  
 

Adult conviction Lifetime Tier II 
25 years 

Attempt/conspiracy/solicitation Post-10 Tier II 
25 years 

 

§ 20A.03 
Continuous Trafficking of 

Persons (if victims are 18 or 
older)  

Adult conviction Lifetime Tier I 
15 years 

Attempt/conspiracy/solicitation Post-10 Tier I 
15 years 

§ 20A.03 Continuous Trafficking of 
Persons (if victims are under 18) 

Adult conviction Lifetime 

 
Tier II 

25 years 
 

Attempt/conspiracy/solicitation Post-10 Tier II 
25 years 
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Texas Statute Texas Offense Length of Duty to Register in Texas Length of Duty to Register 
under SORNA 

Not a  single offense OR  Federal registration requirement is LONGER or EQUAL TO the Texas 
registration requirement, so NOT ELIGIBLE to apply for deregistration under CCP 62.403(b) 

A single offense AND Federal registration requirement is SHORTER than the Texas 
registration requirement, so ELIGIBLE to apply for deregistration under CCP 

62.403(b) 

§ 21.02 Continuous Sexual Abuse of 
Young Child or Children 

Adult conviction  
(victim under 13) Lifetime Tier III 

Lifetime 

Adult conviction 
(victim age 13-17) Lifetime Tier II 

25 years 

Attempt/conspiracy/solicitation Post-10 Tier III Lifetime or 
Tier II 25 years 

 

§ 21.08 Indecent Exposure 
 

2 or more violations and the 2nd violation is 
NOT a deferred adjudication Post-10 No duty to register 

 
 

§ 21.09 
 

Bestiality and 
Attempt/conspiracy/solicitation Post-10 Tier I 

15 years 

  

§ 21.11(a)(1) Indecency with a Child by 
Contact 

Adult conviction 
(victim age 13-17) Lifetime Tier II 

25 years 

Adult conviction 
(victim under 13) Lifetime Tier III 

Lifetime 

Attempt/conspiracy/solicitation Post-10 Tier III Lifetime or  
Tier II 25 years 

 

§ 21.11(a)(2) Indecency with a Child by 
Exposure 

1 conviction Post-10 Tier I 
15 years 

2 or more convictions 
 Lifetime Tier I 

15 years 

Attempt/conspiracy/solicitation Post-10 Tier I 
15 years 

 

§ 22.011 Sexual Assault 

Adult conviction Lifetime Tier III 
Lifetime 

Attempt/conspiracy/solicitation Post-10 Tier III 
Lifetime 

Adult conviction if exception under 
34 U.S. 20911(5)(c) applies Lifetime No duty to register 

 

§ 22.021 
Aggravated  

Sexual Assault  
 

Adult conviction Lifetime Tier III 
Lifetime 

Attempt/conspiracy/solicitation Post-10 Tier III 
Lifetime 
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Texas Statute Texas Offense Length of Duty to Register in Texas Length of Duty to Register 
under SORNA 

Not a  single offense OR  Federal registration requirement is LONGER or EQUAL TO the Texas 
registration requirement, so NOT ELIGIBLE to apply for deregistration under CCP 62.403(b) 

A single offense AND Federal registration requirement is SHORTER than the Texas 
registration requirement, so ELIGIBLE to apply for deregistration under CCP 

62.403(b) 

§ 25.02 Prohibited Sexual Conduct 
Adult conviction Lifetime Tier III 

Lifetime 

Attempt/conspiracy/solicitation Post-10 Tier III 
Lifetime 

 

§ 30.02(d) Burglary of a Habitation with 
Intent to Commit Sex Offense 

Adult conviction Lifetime Tier III 
Lifetime 

Attempt/conspiracy/solicitation Post-10 Tier III 
Lifetime 

 

§ 33.021 Online Solicitation  
of a Minor Post-10 Tier II 

25 years 

 
§ 43.02(c-1)(3) Prostitution  

with a person younger than 18 Post-10 Tier II 
25 years 

 

§ 43.05(a)(1) 
Compelling Prostitution 

of an Adult over 18  
and Attempt/conspiracy/solicitation 

Post-10 No duty to register 

 

§ 43.05(a)(2) Compelling Prostitution 
Victim under 18 

Adult conviction Lifetime Tier II 
25 years 

Attempt/conspiracy/solicitation Post-10 Tier II 
25 years 

 

§ 43.23(h) 
Obscenity 

(if adult conviction and 
victim under age 18) 

Lifetime 

Tier II 
25 years 

*if the victim is visually depicted in 
representations described under § 

43.21(a)(1)(B) of the Texas Penal Code 
 

§ 43.25 Sexual Performance 
by a Child 

Adult conviction Lifetime Tier II 
25 years 

Attempt/conspiracy/solicitation Post-10 Tier II 
25 years 

 

§ 43.26(a) Possession of Child Pornography 
Adult conviction Lifetime Tier I 

15 years 

Attempt/conspiracy/solicitation Post-10 Tier I 
15 years 
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Texas Statute Texas Offense Length of Duty to Register in Texas Length of Duty to Register 
under SORNA 

Not a  single offense OR  Federal registration requirement is LONGER or EQUAL TO the Texas 
registration requirement, so NOT ELIGIBLE to apply for deregistration under CCP 62.403(b) 

A single offense AND Federal registration requirement is SHORTER than the Texas 
registration requirement, so ELIGIBLE to apply for deregistration under CCP 

62.403(b) 

§ 43.26(e) Promotion of Child Pornography 
Adult conviction Lifetime Tier II 

25 years 

Attempt/conspiracy/solicitation Post-10 Tier II 
25 years 

 

Adult conviction of any 
of the above offenses 

If EXCEPTION under 
34 U.S. 20911(5)(c) applies Post-10 or Lifetime No duty to register 

 

Juveniles under 14  
at the time of offense  

Adjudication of delinquent conduct 
for any of the above offenses Post-10 No duty to register 

Juveniles 14 or older  
at the time of offense 

Adjudication of delinquent conduct 
for any of the above  
Tier I or II offenses 

Post-10 No duty to register 

Juveniles 14 or older  
at the time of offense 

Adjudication of delinquent conduct 
for any of the above  

Tier III offenses 
Post-10 Lifetime 
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